The Royse City Independent School District has announced the Teachers of the Year for 2018 along with support staff and departmental nominees from across the district. Each will be recognized at the annual RCISD Staff Appreciation Ceremony on May 18 after school. The winners of each category, including overall elementary and secondary teachers of the year, will be announced at that event.


On the nominations, Superintendent Kevin Worthy said, “This list of individuals is a perfect representation of the Royse City ISD Family. They work hard, love kids and are celebrated among their colleagues. I congratulate these amazing people for their nomination. They truly deserve it!”


One elementary and one secondary Teacher of the Year will be selected to represent RCISD at the Regional Level as part of Region 10’s annual competition. They are chosen by a committee of educators from a neighboring district based on their applications and an in person interview. 



Campus Teachers of the Year

Debra McDaniel, Davis Elem.
Maria Bailey, Fort Elem.
Cheri Froehling, MMV Elem.
Dana Griffiths, Scott Elem.
Ashley Richardson, Cherry Int.
Jessica Bunker, Herndon Int.
Tammy Whitaker, RCMS
Brittany Biggie, RCHS


The Support Staff of the Year nominees were chosen by their campus or department for this honor. A panel of community members select one winner based on their nomination and an in person interview.


Support Staff of the Year Nominees
Donna McManus, Davis Elem.
Samantha Kenney, Fort Elem.
Paty Weeks, MMV Elem.
Elia Salinas, Scott Elem.
Cami Torberson, Cherry Int.
Jessica Gallegos, Herndon Int.
Victoria Lupercio, RCMS
Michael Flores, RCHS
Sheila Whitney, Administration


Bus Driver of the Year Nominees
Richard Jordan
Amy Pearson
Jerry Richardson


Custodian of the Year Nominees
Joe Goodwin, Cherry Int.
Adela Hinojosa, RCHS
Ralph Maraden, MMV Elem.


Food Service Staff of the Year Nominees
Araceli Hernandez (Scott Café)
Emilie Franklin (MMV Café)
Amy Cook (RCMS Café)


Maintenance Staff of the Year Nominees
Bobby Ortega
Kim Summers
Royce Swiney


Technology Staff of the Year Nominees
James Bowen
Ryan Knauth


Special Educator of the Year Nominees
Wendy Bessey, MMV Elem.
Jonathan Hitt, RCMS
Alyse Reavis, Special Services